Devcich Dodd Named Cricketers of the Year

Published on 16 Apr 2015

Anton Devcich and Natalie Dodd were named Cricketers of the Year at Northern Districts' 27th Annual Awards Dinner this evening, held at SKYCITY Hamilton.

Dodd was easily the top run scorer for the Spirit in one-day games, scoring 407 runs at an average of 45.22. Included in this were two outstanding centuries - 118 off 99 balls v Otago Sparks, and 113 off 120 balls v Canterbury Magicians.

Devcich has always been an outstanding fielder, a useful bowler and an explosive limited overs batsman. However this season, he has also started to realise his potential as a batsman in the longer version of the game.

10 years ago, he scored 94 not out in his debut first class game for Northern Districts. This season, he finally scored his first century for the Knights, against the Otago Volts at Seddon Park. It then took him less than 10 days to add a second century, against the Wellington Firebirds at the Basin Reserve. He might even have added a third in 3 games but was unlucky to be adjudged out when on 68 against Canterbury in the final game of the season. He averaged just under 50 runs per innings in the Plunket Shield.

He began the season as the second highest run scorer for the Knights in the Champions League T20 in India (after Kane Williamson). He then represented the BLACKCAPS against Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates. And at the end of a long season, he was also recognised this evening as the Knights Fielder of the Year.

Special recognition was also given to long serving Knights strength and conditioning trainer Jason Wheadon, who leaves after 17 seasons with Northern Districts. Retirees Nicola Browne and Graeme Aldridge were acknowledged for their respective careers and service to ND.


  • Cricketer of the Year: Anton Devcich (Hamilton) and Natalie Dodd (Hamilton)

  • SKYCITY Northern Knights Fielder of the Year: Anton Devcich, Hamilton

  • SKYCITY Northern Knights Bowler of the Year: Graeme Aldridge, Bay of Plenty

  • SKYCITY Northern Knights Batsman of the Year: Dean Brownlie, Bay of Plenty

  • Northern Spirit Outstanding Performance: Felicity Leydon-Davis, Hamilton (5/22 vs Wellington Blaze)

  • Maori Cricketer of the Year sponsored by McCaw Lewis: Thomas Hayes, Poverty Bay

  • ND "A" Player of the Year: Brett Hampton, Bay of Plenty

  • District Association Player of the Year: Mitch McCann, Bay of Plenty

  • Young Cricketer of the Year: Tim Seifert, Waikato Valley

  • Umpire of the Year: Damian Morrow, Hamilton

  • Service to Cricket: Lorraine Fox, Otorohanga

  • Services to Junior Cricket (the Allan McBride Trophy): Dave Lobb, Northland

  • Fergus Hickey Rosebowl: Northland

  • Brian Dunning Cup: Northland

  • Women's District Association Cup: Hamilton

  • Basil McBurney Trophy: Hamilton

  • Eric Petrie Cup: Greerton