Published on 03 Dec 2017


Article courtesy of Barry Leabourn, BOP Cricket.

Hamilton blasted their way to back to back to ND Junior Secondary cricket championship titles, when they finally removed by Waikato Valley for 305, on day one of the two day title decider.

The Waikato City team second successive victory, came after five days of cricket at Boord and Smallbone Parks in Rotorua, where the Northern Districts stars of the future showcased their skills and talent.

Hamilton opening batsmen Jacob Parker, set up his team's victory when he belted 1o6 runs off a marathon 191 balls, to anchors his team's big total. Kuwyn Price also played a big part in the Hamilton title wining performance, working his way to an unbeaten 55.

A further outstanding accomplishment in the encounter, was provided by Waikato Valley bowler Banrog Sidhu, who tool a remarkable seven wickets (for 70 runs) to go with his five wicket bag earlier in the tournament.

Waikato Valley got away to a good start and were in touch at 132/4, however two quick wickets from Ethan O'Donoghue turned the momentum in the match. O'Donoghue went on to collect two further bowling scalps, as Waikato Valley were removed for 170 to hand Hamilton a 135 run victory.

Counties Manuaku took third place in the tournament with first innings points over Northland. In the Plate playoffs, Bay of Plenty Coastland and the ND Invitation team both posted big first innings victories.

Banrog Sidhu was the star bowler of the tournament with two five wicket (or better) hauls, with Niven Dovey also taking grabbing a brace of big wicket bowling scalps. Vincent  von Mulert-Carvel from Northland, returned the remarkable bowling figures against Bay of Plenty Lakeland, of five wickets at a cost of just 5 runs.

The tournaments highest score was blasted by Tim Pringle, when the Bay of Plenty Coastland batsmen hammered 173 runs against Bay of Plenty Lakeland. Coastland's Niven Dovey achieved the rare feat of a century and (two) five wicket bags. Counties Manukau batsman Ben McKendrick also posted a three figure score of 107 on day one.

ND Junior Secondary Tournament @ Rotorua - 4-8 November

Day Four/Five (7 December 2017) Two-Day Matches

Championship Final: Hamilton 305 (JP Parker 16, K Price 55no; B Sidhu 7/70) won first innings points Waikato Valley 170 (C Robinson 33, L Tindall 29; E O'Donoghue 4/30)

Third Place: Northland 184 lost first innings points Counties Manukau 213

Plate Playoffs

Fifth Place: Poverty Bay 125 (M Hudson 29, N Dovey 5/23) lost first innings points Bay of Plenty Coastland 192/4 (N Dovey 119, T Pringle 67; M Foster 2/20)

Seventh Place: ND Invitation XI 342/7 won first innings points Bay of Plenty Lakeland 94

Tournament Best Figures

Runs                173 - Tim Pringle (Bay of Plenty Coastland)

Wickets           7/70 - Banrog Sidhu (Waikato Valley)

Tournament Milestones

Centuries: 173 Tim Pringle (Bay of Plenty Coastland) 119 Niven Dovey (Bay of Plenty Coastland) 107 Ben McKendrick (Counties Mankau) 106 Jacob Parker (Hamilton)

Five Wickets (or better) 7/70 Banrog Sidhu (6/11 Niven Dovey (Bay of Plenty Coastland) 5/5 Vincent  von Mulert-Carvel (Northland) 5/23 Niven Dovey (Bay of Plenty Coastland) 5/32 Banrog Sidhu (Waikato Valley)

Day Three (6 December 2017) Fifty Over Games

Championship Semi-Finals

Counties Manukau 165 (L Marconi 53, L Pahina 42; JP Parker 4/21) lost to Hamilton 167/6 (O O'Meeghan 48, J Clare 37, K Price 26; L Anderson 2/32)

Waikato Valley 230 (I Wilton 70, C Robinson 50; NJ Parkes 4/28, W Potter 3/47) defeated Northland 95 (S Lints 20; Banrog Sidhu 5/32)

Plate Semi-Finals

ND Invitation XI 125 lost to Poverty Bay 128/2 (M McNeill 33no, M Hudson 27, H Holdsworth 26)

Bay of Plenty Coastland 303/5 (T Pringle 173; J Bartlett-Lister 44, M James 36; TD Harte 2/20, S Lund 2/68) defeated Bay of Plenty Lakeland 96 (BJ Astwood 21; F Findlayson 21; N Dovey 6/11)

Day Two (5 December 2017) Fifty Over Games

Pool One

Bay of Plenty Lakeland 65 (V Patel 28; Vincent von Mulert-Carvel 5/5) lost to Northland 67/0 (W Potter 32no, CA Jakicevich-Roberts 21no)

ND Invitation XI 98 (I White 26; J Williams 3/9) lost to Hamilton 99/2 (JP Parker 43no, JS Sturm 37no)

Pool Two

Waikato Valley 253/7 (N Gray 52, DPO Coles 52) defeated Bay of Plenty Coastland 180 (D Du Plessis 58; L Tindall 3/36)

Counties Manukau 341/6 defeated Poverty Bay 57

Day One (4 December 2017) T20

Pool One

ND Invitation XI 128/6 (H Farrell 25no; F Findlayson 3/32) defeated Bay of Plenty Lakeland 68/9 (V Patel 31)

Northland 108 (KG Bird 21; K Price 3/17) lost to Hamilton 110/2 (J Parker 36no; O O'Meeghan 35)

Hamilton 168/6 (JS Sturn 55; BJ Astwood 2/29, B Rumble 2/31) defeated Bay of Plenty Lakeland 86/4 (F Findlayson 28)

Northland 136/6 defeated ND Invitation XI 99

Pool Two

Counties Manukau 100/7 (K Minhas 4no, I Wilton 2/15) lost to Waikato Valley 101/1 (I Wilton 40no, A Wilton 33)

Bay of Plenty Coastland 162/5 (D Du Plessis 62, BV Vyver 38no) defeated Poverty Bay 118/4 (H Holdsworth 39, T Cartwright 3/19)

Waikato Valley 130/7 A Wilton 43, C Barry 3/30 defeated Poverty Bay 72/8 (M McNeil 23; L Tindall 3/2

Counties Manukau 182/2 (BM McKendrick 107, C Dickson 55) defeated Bay of Plenty Coastland 107/7 (C Mascall 33; B Peart 3/16)