Kuggeleijn Takes A Clean Sweep at ND Awards

Published on 06 Apr 2017

Graeme Aldridge, Jono Boult, Joe Carter, Brett Hampton and Bharat Popli from Bay of Plenty with the Hawke Cup and Fergus Hickey Rosebowl

Scott Kuggeleijn took home all player awards at the ND Ceremony

Northern Districts Cricket held their annual awards dinner at SKYCITY Hamilton Function Centre last night (Thursday 6 April 2017). 

Scott Kuggeleijn's class this year was rewarded with him taking home the Northern Districts Player of the Year awards for all three formats - the McDonalds Super Smash, Ford Trophy and Plunket Shield - plus the supreme Cricketer of the Year for 2016-17. 

Kuggeleijn consistently provided outstanding performances with bat and ball across each format.  In the Plunket Shield, where ND finished a close second , he took 34 wickets at an average of 27, and made 388 runs at an average of 30.  The shorter formats also saw him shine, with 107 runs at a strike rate of 153, and 8 wickets with an economy rate of 8.1 in the McDonalds Super Smash, while in the Ford Trophy competition he took 17 wickets at an average of 25, complemented by 242 runs at an average of 35 and strike rate of 106. 

Natalie Dodd took home the SKYCITY Hamilton Northern Spirit Cricketer of the Year.  Dodd's 349 runs in the 50 over competition included 3 x 50s, an average of 39 and a strike rate of 70.  Her T20 performances netted 203 runs at an average of 67  and a strike rate of 105. Dodd is currently at the White Ferns training camp so was unable to collect her prize in person.

Full List of Award Winners:

Cricketer of the Year:  Scott Kuggeleijn

SKYCITY Hamilton Northern Spirit Player of the Year: Natalie Dodd

Knights Player of the Year - McDonalds Super Smash:  Scott Kuggeleijn

Northern Districts Player of the Year - Ford Trophy: Scott Kuggeleijn

Northern Districts Player of the Year - Plunket Shield: Scott Kuggeleijn

DA Cricketer of the Year: Henry Cooper (Northland)

Young Male Cricketer of the Year: Sandeep Patel (Counties Manukau)

Young Female Cricketer of the Year: Brooke Halliday (Counties Manukau)

SKYCITY Hamilton Northern Premier League Player of the Year: Kerry-Anne Tomlinson

McCaw Lewis Maori Player of the Year: Kerry-Anne Tomlinson (Poverty Bay)

Umpire of the Year: John Dempsey

Service to Cricket Award: Glenn Schache (Counties Manukau) Read about Glenn's contribution here

Allan McBride Service to Junior Cricket Award: Barry Roderick (Bay of Plenty) Read about Barry's contribution here

Eric Petrie Cup: City (Northland)

Basil McBurney Trophy: Bay of Plenty

Fergus Hickey Rosebowl: Bay of Plenty

SKYCITY Hamilton NPL Champions Trophy: POWER