Mitchell Century Secures Big Chase Victory Over Wellington

Published on 27 Jan 2018

A stunning century by Daryl Mitchell has guided Northern Districts to a four wicket victory over the Wellington Firebirds in the fourth round of the Ford Trophy played at the Basin Reserve. 

Earlier in the day Northern Districts captain Dean Brownlie won the toss and decided to bowl first.  The decision paid early dividends as seamer Brett Randell removed opening batsman Hamish Marshall (6) and Malcom Nofal (5) cheaply.  When Steven Murdoch was dismissed by Brent Arnel, Wellington were 91 for 3 in the 17th over.  Wicket keeper Devon Conway (93) and Michael Bracewell (54) continued the momentum with a fourth wicket partnership of 92 before Bracewell was dismissed by Randell in the 30th over.  After the wickets of Mark Taylor (12) and Luke Woodcock (15), Logan Van Beek played a blazing innings of 53 off 25 balls which included 3 sixes as Wellington posted 320 off their 50 overs. 

Brett Randell was the pick of the bowlers with 4 for 44 of his 10 overs while Brent Arnel and Daryl Mitchell picked up two wickets a piece. 

In reply Northern Districts were in early trouble as both openers BJ Watling and Tim Seifert were dismissed without scoring.  When Nick Kelly (21) was dismissed by Peter Younghusband, Northern Districts were reeling at 41 for 4 in the 12th over.  Brownlie and Mitchell would combine for a fantastic fifth wicket partnership of 155 to get Northern Districts back into the contest.  The partnership was a List A 5th wicket record for Northern Districts against all teams. 

After Brownlie was dismissed three runs short of a century, Mitchell and Kuggeleijn (44) continued the momentum with a partnership of 119.  Mitchell would go on to register his 3rd List A century and remained unbeaten on 126 as Northern Districts chased down Wellingtons total with 15 balls to spare. 

Northern Districts are now second on the Ford Trophy table with twelve points after four rounds.  They will play the Auckland Aces in the fifth round of the competition on the 29th of January at Cobham Oval in Whangarei.