ND Contracts List Announced

Published on 15 Jun 2018

Northern Districts have announced the first 15 of their players offered contracts for the 2018-19 season. There will be 16 contracts offered this season and the final 16th contract will be announced in the coming weeks.

Northern Districts say farewell to pace bowler Brent Arnel, who announced his departure from ND's first class cricket system this morning.

New to the contracted list is Hamilton Cricket's Peter Bocock, who made his debut for the Knights in December 2016 against the Auckland Aces, the wicketkeeper/batsman has since featured in 7 Super Smash matches, 1 Plunket Shield and 1 Ford Trophy.  All other contracted players from last season have been offered a place with Northern Districts Cricket.

Chairman of Selectors Pat Malcon is pleased with this year's line-up, the stability in the team a tribute to the culture in the side, with the vacant Head Coach position to be filled shortly. "We have a balanced mix of experience and up and comers within our side, we are very privileged to have strong leadership in the likes of Flynn, Brownlie and Devcich that can offer input into the direction of our team and guidance to younger players."

"With many of our players on the fringe of BLACKCAPS selection we have to give careful consideration to our depth and cover for our domestic season.  We have no significant injury concerns and with winter training about to start we are in a very stable position leading into the cricket season."

Northern Districts Contracted List for 2017-18 (one to be added):

James Baker (Hamilton)

Peter Bocock (Hamilton)

Dean Brownlie (Bay of Plenty)

Henry Cooper (Northland)

Anton Devcich (Hamilton)

Daniel Flynn (Bay of Plenty)

Zak Gibson (Waikato Valley)

Brett Hampton (Bay of Plenty)

Nick Kelly (Counties Manukau)

Scott Kuggeleijn (Hamilton)

Daryl Mitchell (Hamilton)

Bharat Popli (Bay of Plenty)

Brett Randell (Northland)

Tim Seifert (Waikato Valley)

Josef Walker (Hamilton)