Southee to captain BLACKCAPS T20 squad featuring 7 from ND

Published on 19 Aug 2019

Tim Southee will captain the BLACKCAPS Twenty20 team, featuring seven Northern Districts players, in next month's three-game series against Sri Lanka.

With regular skipper Kane Williamson and paceman Trent Boult returning home for pre-planned rest following the current Test series, the squad features a blend of experience and emerging T20 talent.

Selector Gavin Larsen said the series represented the start of a new T20 cycle, with nine Twenty20 International series scheduled for the side ahead of next October's ICC T20 World Cup in Australia.

Tim Southee will captain a BLACKCAPS side featuring six fellow ND players, including Tim Seifert and Daryl Mitchell (Credit; Photosport).

"Following that amazing ride in the ODI World Cup, it's exciting to begin setting our sights on another world event," Larsen said.

"The series in Sri Lanka will be a challenging one against a team who are tough to beat in their own conditions.

"Our T20 team has been pretty consistent over the past couple of years and we're really happy with the power and versatility we have in this squad.

"Kane and Trent played an enormous role in our recent World Cup campaign and with a big summer ahead, we see it as a good opportunity to give them a rest."

Joining Southee in the squad is Colin de Grandhomme, Scott Kuggeleijn, Daryl Mitchell, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert and Ish Sodhi; ND players who were all in the side for the BLACKCAPS' last T20 outing when they secured a series victory against India on our home ground of Seddon Park.

Southee, Ross Taylor, Colin Munro, Martin Guptill and Sodhi represent the experienced core of the side with a combined 307 T20 International matches between them.

Sodhi, Santner and Todd Astle are the three specialist spin options for the three-game series that starts in Kandy on September 1.

BLACKCAPS T20 Squad v Sri Lanka

Todd Astle

Tom Bruce

Colin de Grandhomme

Lockie Ferguson

Martin Guptill

Scott Kuggeleijn

Daryl Mitchell

Colin Munro

Seth Rance

Mitchell Santner

Tim Seifert (wk)

Ish Sodhi

Tim Southee (c)

Ross Taylor

BLACKCAPS schedule