Three ND youngsters in NZ Māori Secondary Schoolgirls and Schoolboys sides

Published on 04 Feb 2020

Three Northern Districts youngsters have been selected in the Māori Secondary Schools sides to play Governor General's XIs at Wellington's Karori Park later this month.

St. Paul's Collegiate's Kuwyn Price (Ngāti Porou & Ngāti Hauā) and Hamilton Boys High School's Payton Spencer (Ngati Kāhungunu) have been selected in the boys' side, while Whangarei Girls  High School's Chelsea Traill (Ngā Puhi) will turn out for the girls' side.

Maia Lewis and Duncan Murray, respectively, will coach the girls and boys Māori Secondary Schools sides.

Lewis, a former WHITE FERNS captain who played nine Tests and 78 ODIs for New Zealand, will coach what will be the inaugural Māori Secondary Schoolgirl's team; the boys side having been launched last summer.

The secondary schoolgirls team includes players from each of the six Major Associations, including four players who have represented their MAs at Under 19 level: Ocean Bartlett (CD), Sam Mackinder (Wellington), and Angelique Peyroux and Harriet Cuttance (both Otago).

Murray, an assistant coach with the Wellington Blaze, is the son of former New Zealand Test captain Bruce (Bags) Murray, and last season acted as the assistant coach of the inaugural Māori Secondary Schoolboys team.

The Māori Secondary Schoolboys team is also brimming with emerging talent, including five players from last year's side as well as Ryan Jackson - a member of the New Zealand Under 19 squad.

Players from both teams will assemble in Wellington on Tuesday, February 18 and will stay at the Pipitea Marae for the remainder of the week, engaging in many activities, with a focus on connecting with tikanga.

The games will be played on Thursday, February 20, with the schoolgirls' side playing two T20 matches (starting at 10.30am and 3pm) and the schoolboys side playing a 50-over contest (starting at 10.30am).

Former BLACKCAPS Test wicket-keeper Adam Parore will join both teams in a support and mentor role, and will be present at the capping ceremony at Pipitea Marae on Wednesday, February 19.

Both Māori teams were selected by Northern Districts' Pat Malcon.

The Māori Secondary Schools initiative was the recipient of the 'Innovation in School Sport' award in 2019 presented by School Sport NZ (NZSSSC).

NZ Maori Schoolboys

Name, Iwi, School

Lachie Bailey, Ngāti Raukawa & Ngāti Kāhungunu, Hutt International Boys School

Joel Clark, Ngā Puhi & Ngāti Rāhiri Tumutumu, Palmerston North Boys High School

Elias Falanitule, Te Rarawa, Sacred Heart College, Auckland

Jacob Gilbert, Ngai Tāhu, Kings High School, Dunedin

Curtis Heaphy, Ngai Tāhu, Palmerston North Boys High School

Ryan Jackson, Ngā Māhanga a Tairi, St. Patrick's College Silverstream

Kuwyn Price, Ngāti Porou & Ngāti Hauā, St. Paul's Collegiate, Hamilton

Nathan Robinson, Ngāti Hei, Kings College, Auckland

Payton Spencer, Ngati Kāhungunu, Hamilton Boys High School

Brayden Thomas, Te Ātiawa, Southland Boys High School

Alex Thompson, Ngā Puhi, Onslow College

Jamal Todd, Ngāti Whātua, Auckland Grammar School

Head Coach: Duncan Murray, Te Whanganui-a-Tara
Assistant Coach: Michael Tillett, Tamaki Makaurau
Assistant Coach: Michael Rameka, Ngāti Tūwharetoa

NZ Maori Schoolgirls

Name, Iwi, School

Ocean Bartlett, Ngāti Porou & Ngā Puhi, St. Matthew's Collegiate

Waimarie Carter, Te Arawa, Onslow College

Harriet Cuttance, Waikato Tainui, Columba College

Marama Downes, Ngāti Tuwharetoa, Pakuranga College 

Ella Drumm, Ngāti Porou, Epsom Girls Grammar

Ella Gibson, Tuhoe, Te Aitanga a Mahaki & Ngāti Porou, Lincoln High School

Kayarna Jones-Dennes, Ngati Kāhungunu, Wairarapa College

Sam Mackinder, Te Whānau-ā-Apanui, Palmerston North Girls High School

Angelique Peyroux, Ngai Tāhu, Columba College

Jess Smith, Ngā Puhi & Tainui, Kaipara College

Anika Todd, Ngāti Whātua, Mount Albert Grammar School

Chelsea Traill, Ngā Puhi, Whangarei Girls High School

Head Coach: Maia Lewis, Ngāti Whātua & Ngāti Maniapoto
Assistant Coach: Tanya Morrison, Ngai Tāhu
Assistant Coach: Hannah Beatson, Ōtautahi