Whangarei City win Eric Petrie Trophy

Published on 09 Apr 2017

City defeated Mt.Maunganui in the Northern Districts Club Championship final played at Blake Park, Mt. Maunganui on April 1.

City batted first and scored 199 for 9 wickets from their 50 overs. Northern Districts stalwart Joey Yovich, with a quick 35 off 38 balls, and J.Thompson, a solid 35, gave City a good start. A mid order collapse saw City faltering at 128 for 6 before Stacy Hyndman slammed a quickfire 49 off only 29 balls. Best of the Mount bowlers was C. Atkinson 2/37.

In reply the hosts were quickly in trouble at 53 for 6, and some lower order efforts from Atkinson [25] and Dale Swan [22] were not enough to carry the day. Mount were dismissed for 122 in the 38th over. Kieran Nelson 3/21 and Craig Little 3/26 did the damage.

City won  the Eric Petrie Trophy by 77 runs. However, Mount are representing Northern Districts in the National club Championships at Cornwall Park as City were unable to attend due to a prior commitment to host an Australian club.