Poverty Bay Cricket Association

Poverty Bay Cricket Association

Visit Poverty Bay Cricket Association

The Poverty Bay Cricket Association has a rich and proud background since being formed in 1890.

The Association produced their first New Zealand representative in 1914, in Len McMahon. Another eight players went on to wear the Silver Fern.
Double All Black Bill Carson and two of the country's outstanding players John Wright and Geoff Howarth donned the dark blue cap of Poverty Bay. Poverty Bay won minor cricket's major trophy, the Hawke Cup in the 1918-19 season and defended the Cup four times.

International sides visited the district including Australia in 1913-14, 1927-28 and 1956-57, MCC 1935-36, Fiji 1947-48, 1953-54, 1961-62 and 1967-68 and Pakistan in 1978-79. Sri Lanka visited in 1996 the Association's centenary season but unfortunately inclement weather meant not a ball was bowled in the four day fixture. Poverty Bay hosted  NZA v Zimbabwe in 2012 with both teams fielding their shadow test teams. PBCA  hosted their initial first class game in 1973-74 and has run another 36 first class fixtures plus many one day domestic matches.

The Association has an outstanding first class ground in the Harry Barker Reserve and five superb pitches and a top class pavilion. The ground is regarded as one of the best facilities in hosting numerous Northern District Tournaments including National Tournaments and First Class Fixtures over the years. Poverty Bay is part of the Northern District Association and has nurtured many Northern District representatives.