Hamilton win ND Secondary Girls' tournament

Published on 06 Dec 2018

Congratulations must be given to organizers, players and officials at the ND Secondary Schoolgirls cricket tournament, who battled the elements in Tauranga over the last three days, to arrive at a successful tournament conclusion.

With the first two days washed out, a revised program of three 10 overs per side encounters were completed on day three.

Both defending title holders Hamilton and Poverty Bay went through the three quick-fire rounds of play unbeaten, however Hamilton grabbed a three-peat of ND titles, courtesy of superior run rate taking home the Louise Milliken Cup for the third successive year.

The Hamilton side after winning the trophy.

The early morning game honours saw Hamilton defeat Northland in a game where both sides lost just a solitary wicket. Counties Manukau lost three wickets on their way to beating hosts Bay of Plenty with Ella Farrell posting an unbeaten half century and Poverty Bay got past Waikato Valley.

In spite of good efforts from Northland batters Bailey Mounter (40) and Makakla Templeton (31), 47 runs from Mia Reeves took Poverty Bay to victory in mid morning action. Other sides to win were Hamilton who easily defeated Counties Manukau with Waikato Valley dispatching Bay of Plenty.

Hamilton and Poverty Bay, both went home with unbeaten records after victories in the final stanza. Hamilton's Emma Baker smashed 74 runs off just 30 balls before she was retired by her captain, then Hamilton restricted Bay of Plenty to 46/3. Poverty Bay claimed a comfortable win over Counties Manukau with Rubi Perano in grand touch in posting an unbeaten 55 runs.

Tournament honours went to Hamilton's Emma Baker with 108 runs and Kayley Knight from Poverty Bay, who finished the tournament with five wickets taking out the bowling award.


Day Three (5 December) - T10

Round Three

Northland 59/1 (Makayla Templeton 32) lost to Hamilton 63/1 (Emma Baker 28)

Counties Manukau 76/3 (Ella Farrell 52no; Grace Kahle 2/8) defeated Bay of Plenty 40/6.

Poverty Bay 68/3 defeated Waikato Valley 53/6

Round Four

Counties Manukau 41/8 (Emma Baker 2/3, Olivia McDonald 2/5, Ruby Makeham 2/15) lost to Hamilton 42/1 (Morgan Shakeleton 20)

Northland 83/1 (Bailey Mounter 40, Makayla Templeton 31) lost to Poverty Bay 84/2 (Mia Reeves 47)

Waikato Valley defeated Bay of Plenty

Round Five

Hamilton 131/1 (Emma Baker 74 retired, Georgina Harris 35no) defeated Bay of Plenty 46/3 (Georgina Harris 2/0)

Poverty Bay 124/1 (Rubi Perano 55no) defeated Counties Manukau 76/7

Northland defeated Waikato Valley

Day Two (4 December) - T10

Round Two

Waikato Valley 44/5 v Hamilton; Counties Manukau 44/4 v Northland; Bay of Plenty 49/5 v Poverty Bay (games abandoned)

Day One (Monday 3 December) Round One - No play due to wet weather

ND Secondary Schoolgirls Tournament Honours

Most Runs                   Emma Baker (Hamilton) - 108 runs

Most Wickets              Kayley Knight (Poverty Bay) 5 wickets

Final Points: Hamilton 6, Poverty Bay 6, Northland 2, Counties Manukau 2, Bay of Plenty 0, Waikato Valley 0.