International injection for Northern Districts Ford Trophy squad

Published on 19 Nov 2019

Northern Districts have welcomed back three BLACKCAPS for their round two Ford Trophy match against Canterbury.

Northern Districts (ND), who are playing their second consecutive match under the new lights at Seddon Park, will be looking to secure their first win of the season, after a tight match against Otago Volts went the way of the visitors courtesy of the DLS method in round one.

Scott Kuggeleijn, Daryl Mitchell and Tim Seifert return to the squad following their involvement with New Zealand A in the red-ball warm-up match against England at Whangarei's Cobham Oval.

Daryl Mitchell returns to the ND side for tomorrow's Ford Trophy match (Credit: Photosport).

The trio have been key members of the ND set-up for the past few seasons, so their experience will be just as welcome as their ability.

Kuggeleijn bolsters a bowling attack who were threatening for most of the Otago innings, with Brett Randell taking four wickets and the returning Anurag Verma claiming three, while Seifert and Mitchell will provide quality to the batting line-up.

Tomorrow's match begins a packed period of Ford Trophy cricket, with four games to come over the next nine days as the squad moves to Lincoln for a centralised round of fixtures.

Round two of the Ford Trophy begins Thursday, November 21, 2.00pm at Seddon Park, Hamilton.


Joe Carter (c)                     Bay of Plenty

Dean Brownlie                    Bay of Plenty

Henry Cooper                     Northland

Katene Clarke                    Counties Manukau

Zak Gibson                         Waikato Valley

Brett Hampton                    Bay of Plenty

Scott Kuggeleijn                 Hamilton

Daryl Mitchell                      Hamilton

Tim Seifert                          Waikato Valley

Ish Sodhi                            Counties Manukau

Brett Randell                       Northland

Anurag Verma                     Hamilton