ND Cricket Feature Heavily in BlackCaps Contracted Player List Announced Today

Published on 22 Jun 2017

New Zealand Cricket announced their central contracts list for the 2017-18 season, and all Northern Districts Cricket players named last season will have their contracts renewed. Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, BJ Watling, and captain Kane Williamson, make up 7 places in the BlackCaps contracted list, the most of any major association.

Peter Roach, outgoing CEO for Northern Districts Cricket, is pleased with the association's representation  "It is terrific that our region consistently contributes such a large number of high profile and highly talented players to the BLACKCAPS environment.  The young male and female players in our region get a great thrill knowing that they are playing in the same programmes, clubs and environments that have produced home grown champions such as the national captain Kane Williamson."

"Having 7 BLACKCAPS from the ND camp is something that we are proud of and is a reflection of the strong status of cricket in our District Associations, especially as we have Scott Kuggeleijn, Anton Devich and Dean Brownlie who featured for the BlackCaps last year and up and coming players such as Tim Seifert who is also showing his hand as a talented wicket keeper/batsman."

Northern Districts will announce their 15 domestic contracted players in July.

Northern Districts:

  • Corey Anderson - Bay of Plenty

  • Trent Boult - Bay of Plenty

  • Mitchell Santner - Hamilton

  • Ish Sodhi - Counties Manukau

  • Tim Southee - Northland

  • BJ Watling - Hamilton

  • Kane Williamson - Bay of Plenty

Other Major Association Players offered central contracts for 2017-18:

  • Neil Broom (Otago)

  • Colin de Grandhomme (Auckland)

  • Martin Guptill (Auckland)

  • Matt Henry (Canterbury)

  • Tom Latham (Canterbury)

  • Mitchell McClenaghan (Auckland)

  • Adam Milne (Central Districts)

  • Colin Munro (Auckland)

  • Henry Nicholls (Canterbury)

  • James Neesham (Otago)

  • Jeet Raval (Auckland)

  • Ross Taylor (Central Districts)

  • Neil Wagner (Otago)

  • George Worker (Central Districts)