Spray Marks NZ Fergus Hickey Teams Named For Round 1

Published on 09 Nov 2017

Round 1 of the Spray Marks NZ Fergus Hickey Rosebowl Championship will begin this weekend.  Last year's champions Bay Of Plenty will face Northland in Whangarei.  Waikato Valley will be looking to start strong in their chase for their first ever title when they play Poverty Bay at the Harry Barker Reserve.  At the Weymouth Oval, Counties Manukau will be hosting Hamilton.

Northern Districts' multi-day competition is a key feature within the cricket calendar for nurturing talent within the Association. Pat Malcon, Head Selector for Northern Districts says "The Fergus Hickey competition is an important stage in our player pathway.  The teams are a combination of experienced District Association representatives and young promising players on the rise.  Performances at this level tell us a lot about the ability of players their potential."

Poverty Bay are competing in this round of the competition to complete the Hawke Cup points portion of the competition which runs on an annual basis. Post this round, they will not play in the remainder of the Fergus Hickey rounds and will instead embark on a schedule which includes fixtures against Northern Maori, Hawkes Bay, Sri Lanka Under 19 and other District development teams. This was deemed by all parties involved in the decision to be a positive way forward for the Association as they continue to rebuild their strength and depth.

Teams selected for Round 1 of the Spray Marks NZ Fergus Hickey Rosebowl:


Keir Bettley (C), Peter Bocock (VC), Cullen Aislabie, Owen Ivins, Anish Desai, Daryl Mitchell, Brook Hatwell, Michael Dodunski, Matt Walbank, Freddy Walker, Cooper Rowell, Brayden Gaylor

Counties Manukau:

Luke Williamson (Karaka) (C), Katene Clarke (Pukekohe-Metro), Nick Kelly (Manukau), Scott Johnston (Manukau), Sandeep Patel (Manukau), Tristan Payle (Manukau), Ryan Phizackerly (Papakura), Barry Rhodes (Pukekohe-Metro), Michael Schofield (Karaka), Reid Somani (Pukekohe-Metro), Rishe Umasuthan (Pukekohe-Metro), Ash Vodnala (Pukekohe-Metro)

Bay of Plenty:

Pete Drysdale - Mount (C), Tom MacRury - Greerton, Joe Carter - Cadets, Sean Davey - Cadets, Brett Hampton Greerton, Jono Boult - Cadets, Ben Musgrave - Mount, Tim Clarke - TBC, Alastair Blackett - Te Puke, Dan Smith - Mount, Tony Goodin - Mount, Tim Pringle - Cadets


Ben Hyde (C) , Brad Kneebone, Neal Parlane, Kyran Dill, Rory Christopherson, Matt Taylor, Todd Beehre, Tom Herman, Oliver White, Caleb Boswell-Smith, Brett Randell, Simar Virk

Waikato Valley:

Chris Swanson (C), Campbell Child, Kristian Clarke, Sam Cooper, Matthew Fisher, Jake Gibson, Dillion Kelliher, Yogesh Kumar, Matthew Montgomerie, Stephen Sistern-Tate, Keith Vincent, Brandon Weal

Poverty Bay:

Danny Gibbs (C), Thomas Hayes, Thorn Parkes, Drew Scott, Scott Tallott, Kieran Venema, Richard Mills , Jonathan Purcell, Timoti Weir, Blake Taylor, Jak RoweJimmy Holden 

ROUND 1 of the Spray Marks NZ Fergus Hickey Rosebowl Championship, 11th and 12th November 2017:

Team                                                                 Venue                                 Umpires

Northland                  vs.    Bay of Plenty           Cobham Oval               Ross Kneebone & John Dempsey
Counties Manukau vs.     Hamilton                  Weymouth Oval          Mark Fleming    & Lui Els
Poverty Bay              vs.    Waikato Valley        Harry Barker Reserve Mark Commins & Brendon Davis

Note: Poverty Bay withdraws from competition following Round 1

ROUND 2 will take place 25th and 26th November.