Spray Marks NZ Brian Dunning Tournament Report: New T20 Format Ends in Tight Finish

Published on 05 Dec 2017

Owen Delany Park, Taupo bathed in sunshine for all three days, was the setting for the Spray Marks NZ Brian Dunning Tournament.  Played as a full round robin of T20 games for the first time, no team survived all 5 rounds unbeaten.  Northland, with 4 wins out of 5 games, took the trophy ahead of Bay of Plenty.  The pivotal game of the tournament could not have been closer, Northland (154/7, 20 overs) edging out Bay of Plenty (153/7, 20 overs) by 1 run.  That was not the closest game, Bay of Plenty and Hamilton finished in a tie in the final round.

Star performer of the tournament was Northland's medium pace bowler Kieren Dill, who took 15 wickets, including two 5 wicket bags.  Joe Carter (Bay of Plenty) scored the only century, 122 not out for Bay of Plenty vs Poverty Bay.  Top batting aggregates were Carter with 197 runs, Henry Cooper (Northland) 192, and Barry Rhodes (Counties Manukau) 176.  After Dill the top wicket takers were spinners Yogesh Kumar (Waikato Valley) and Jono Boult (Bay of Plenty) with 10 wickets each and Bay of Plenty all-rounder Sean Davey with 9 wickets.

Points:  Northland, 8

Bay of Plenty, 7

Counties Manukau, 6

Hamilton, 5

Waikato Valley, 4

Poverty Bay, 0